Skip to content
Redbridge Counts — Redbridge, in numbers.Local help →

Redbridge, in numbers

People and living standards

Redbridge council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Redbridge council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 221,999 in 1991 to 321,829 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Redbridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 232,804 people in 1996; 321,829 people in 2025. 38.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Redbridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991221,999
1992223,487
1993224,747
1994226,684
1995228,714
1996232,804
1997234,974
1998235,997
1999238,138
2000239,868
2001241,893
2002244,273
2003247,412
2004248,774
2005251,560
2006255,590
2007259,965
2008265,452
2009270,435
2010275,088
2011281,395
2012285,437
2013289,976
2014295,837
2015301,022
2016304,369
2017305,937
2018308,841
2019311,780
2020311,750
2021310,130
2022313,152
2023318,749
2024323,006
2025321,829
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Redbridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 49,127 people in 1996; 66,568 people in 2025. 35.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Redbridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199144,241
199245,385
199346,372
199447,402
199548,174
199649,127
199749,849
199850,505
199950,797
200051,046
200151,078
200251,607
200352,761
200453,443
200554,585
200655,957
200757,288
200858,706
200960,205
201061,834
201163,435
201264,681
201366,004
201467,247
201568,338
201668,901
201768,957
201869,107
201969,120
202068,920
202168,153
202268,355
202368,041
202467,921
202566,568
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Redbridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 149,744 people in 1996; 213,989 people in 2025. 42.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Redbridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991142,991
1992143,590
1993144,049
1994145,065
1995146,529
1996149,744
1997151,470
1998152,067
1999153,953
2000155,519
2001157,313
2002159,419
2003161,574
2004162,426
2005164,221
2006167,141
2007170,418
2008174,187
2009177,354
2010180,014
2011184,387
2012186,477
2013189,104
2014193,204
2015196,892
2016199,273
2017200,321
2018202,709
2019205,039
2020204,999
2021203,812
2022205,765
2023211,019
2024214,654
2025213,989
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Redbridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 33,933 people in 1996; 41,272 people in 2025. 21.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Redbridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199134,767
199234,512
199334,326
199434,217
199534,011
199633,933
199733,655
199833,425
199933,388
200033,303
200133,502
200233,247
200333,077
200432,905
200532,754
200632,492
200732,259
200832,559
200932,876
201033,240
201133,573
201234,279
201334,868
201435,386
201535,792
201636,195
201736,659
201837,025
201937,621
202037,831
202138,165
202239,032
202339,689
202440,431
202541,272
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 310,261 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Redbridge · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh146,83347.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African26,0968.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups12,7364.1%
White107,97434.8%
Other ethnic group16,6225.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 278,970 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Redbridge · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White118,64642.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups11,4564.1%
Asian/Asian British116,50341.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British24,8458.9%
Other ethnic group7,5202.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 238,635 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Redbridge · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White151,58763.5%
Mixed5,8312.4%
Asian/Asian British59,62325%
Black/Black British18,1127.6%
Chinese/Other3,4821.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 6.7% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Redbridge council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,180 per person in 1997; £27,711 per person in 2024. 147.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Redbridge council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,180
199811,403
199911,862
200012,645
200113,390
200213,638
200314,116
200414,661
200515,148
200615,490
200716,401
200816,772
200916,712
201017,014
201116,884
201217,939
201318,372
201418,793
201520,393
201620,782
201721,491
201822,711
201922,948
202022,819
202123,729
202225,054
202326,212
202427,711
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Redbridge council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 5.4% in 1997; 6.7% in 2024. 1.3 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Redbridge council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19975.4
19985.3
19994.9
20006.2
20018.2
20027.8
20038.3
20048
20057.8
20065.8
20076.9
20086.5
20094.4
20105.3
20113.6
20126.2
20134.9
20143.9
20157.2
20167.9
20179.1
201811.3
20198.9
20208.7
20218.6
20229.1
20237.2
20246.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

58.5%

21 March 2021 · Redbridge council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

18.8%

21 March 2021 · Redbridge council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

17.3%

21 March 2021 · Redbridge council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4%

21 March 2021 · Redbridge council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£481,000

July 2026 · Redbridge council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,726

August 2026 · Redbridge council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.